Will ChatGPT and Codex share one usage limit in December?
Updated 2026-10-30. From OpenAI's help center, the Codex pricing page and posts on X.
Not confirmed yet. A hidden line on ChatGPT's checkout page says that starting in December, plan usage will have one shared limit across all of ChatGPT and Codex. OpenAI hasn't announced it, given a date or said how big the pool would be. Today, Codex already shares one allowance with ChatGPT Work, while regular Chat has its own separate limits.
ChatGPT and Codex limits: today vs the December text
| Today (confirmed) | From December (reported) | |
|---|---|---|
| Codex and ChatGPT Work | One shared allowance | Shared with all of ChatGPT |
| Regular Chat | Separate message limits per plan | Inside the same shared limit |
| GPT-6 Pro in Chat (Pro plans) | Weekly message limit, separate from Codex | Not stated |
| Plus, Codex every 5 hours | About 15 to 160 GPT-6.1 Sol local messages (OpenAI estimate) | Not stated |
| Pro 100, 200, 500 | No 5-hour limit in Work and Codex; weekly may apply | Not stated |
| Start date | None | "December", no day given |
Today column from OpenAI's Work and Codex usage and Pro tiers help articles, read Oct 30, 2026. December column from the checkout text Tibor Blaho posted on X; OpenAI hasn't confirmed it.
What did the ChatGPT checkout page say?
On Oct 29, 2026 at 6:04 PM ET, AI product researcher Tibor Blaho posted a screenshot on X of a new checkout disclaimer: "Starting in December, plan usage will have a shared limit across all of ChatGPT and Codex." The post passed 550,000 views within a day.
According to a Linux.do forum user, as summarized by Prompt Blueprints, the line sits in the subscription terms on the Plus, Pro and Business checkout pages, and a feature flag that is off by default controls who sees it. If that's right, it explains why most people opening checkout today don't see it. This part is reported, not confirmed.
The key word is "all." Codex already shares a pool with ChatGPT Work. The new text would pull regular Chat into that same pool.
What has OpenAI said?
Nothing about December. No OpenAI help article or pricing page mentioned a December change when we checked on Oct 30, 2026 at 11 AM ET. The closest thing is a post from OpenAI's Tibo (@thsottiaux). On Oct 28 at 7:35 PM ET, quoting a post that said "ChatGPT is unifying Chat and Work," he wrote:
"Team is working on this but it's not rolling out just yet, sorry for any confusion. Plan is to bring together best of both Chat / Work capabilities together at some point this year, but we're going to proceed carefully here and take our time."
That came a day before the checkout text surfaced, and it doesn't mention limits. Blaho thinks the two are linked: "This is likely related to the ongoing work to combine Chat + Work." That's a reasonable reading, but it's his, not OpenAI's.
How ChatGPT and Codex limits work today
OpenAI runs two separate meters right now, per its Codex help article and Codex pricing page:
- Work and Codex pool. Codex, ChatGPT Work, ChatGPT for Excel and Workspace Agents draw from one allowance and one credit balance. A long Codex session leaves less for Work, and the other way around.
- Chat limits. Regular chat has its own message limits that vary by plan. On Pro, OpenAI says the weekly GPT-6 Pro message limits "are separate from your Work and Codex allowance."
On Plus ($20 a month), OpenAI estimates these local Codex messages per 5-hour window, with weekly limits on top:
| Model | Plus, per 5 hours |
|---|---|
| GPT-6 Astra | 5 to 45 |
| GPT-6.1 Sol | 15 to 160 |
| GPT-6 Sol | 15 to 150 |
| GPT-6 Luna | 350 to 3,000 |
From OpenAI's Work and Codex usage article, read Oct 30, 2026. Estimates, not guarantees. Standard Business seats get the same ranges.
The Pro plans have no 5-hour limit in Work and Codex for now. On Oct 29, OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500 and lifted every Pro 200 account to the higher allowance. Plus didn't change. See Codex limits explained and the AI plan changelog for the details.
What a shared ChatGPT and Codex limit would mean
OpenAI hasn't described the design, so this section is our reading of the one sentence we have.
- Heavy Codex days could cost you chat. If you burn most of your allowance on a coding session, ordinary questions in ChatGPT would come out of what's left.
- Light coders might gain. If you barely use Codex, one pool could leave more room for chat than a fixed chat limit does. That depends on sizes OpenAI hasn't published.
- One place to check. A single meter in Settings, then Usage would replace the split between chat limits and the Work and Codex allowance.
Claude already works this way. Anthropic's Pro and Max plans use one pool for Claude chat and Claude Code, which is why a big Claude Code day can lock you out of chat until the 5-hour window resets. Our Claude limits guide and Claude reset tracker show how that plays out.
What we know and what we don't
| What we know | What we don't |
|---|---|
| The checkout string exists and names December (reported, screenshot and front-end code) | Whether it ships in December, later or not at all |
| Codex and ChatGPT Work share one allowance today (confirmed) | How big a combined pool would be on each plan |
| Chat limits are separate from Codex today (confirmed) | Whether Free and Go are included |
| OpenAI is working on merging Chat and Work, "not rolling out just yet" (confirmed, Tibo on X) | Whether the 5-hour and weekly windows change |
| Pro 100 and Pro 500 just got 2x Work and Codex usage (confirmed, Oct 29) | Whether that boost carries into a shared pool |
We'll update this page the moment OpenAI says more, and log any confirmed change on the ChatGPT plan tracker.
Should you change plans now?
No. Nothing changes before December, and there are no numbers to compare yet. Two things are worth doing in the meantime:
- Note your normal week. Check Settings, then Usage in ChatGPT, or Usage & Billing in Codex, and write down how much of the weekly allowance a typical week uses. If a shared limit lands, you'll know right away whether you're worse off. Our guide to checking AI usage limits covers every app.
- Know your fallbacks. Credits keep working for Codex and Work after the included allowance runs out. See what Codex credits cost, or compare against paying per token with the Codex plan vs API calculator.
If you mostly chat and rarely code, this probably won't matter much. If you live in Codex on Plus, it could, and whether ChatGPT Pro is worth it is the question to revisit once OpenAI publishes the details.
Sources
- Tibor Blaho on X: checkout disclaimer (Oct 29, 2026)
- Tibo (@thsottiaux, OpenAI) on X: Chat and Work (Oct 28, 2026)
- OpenAI Help Center: About ChatGPT Pro tiers (read Oct 30, 2026)
- OpenAI Help Center: Managing usage with GPT-6 Astra in Work and Codex (read Oct 30, 2026)
- OpenAI Help Center: Using Codex with your ChatGPT plan (read Oct 30, 2026)
- OpenAI Developers: Codex pricing (read Oct 30, 2026)
- Prompt Blueprints: checkout text report (Oct 30, 2026)
- Windows Report: shared usage limits report
FAQ
Will ChatGPT and Codex share one usage limit?
Possibly from December, but OpenAI hasn't confirmed it. A hidden checkout line says plan usage will have a shared limit across all of ChatGPT and Codex starting in December.
Does Codex use my ChatGPT limits today?
Only the Work part. Codex shares one allowance with ChatGPT Work, while regular Chat has separate message limits, per OpenAI's help center.
When does the ChatGPT and Codex shared limit start?
The checkout text only says December, with no day. OpenAI hasn't announced a date, and Tibo said Chat and Work changes are "not rolling out just yet."
Will ChatGPT Plus get less Codex usage?
Nobody knows yet. OpenAI hasn't published pool sizes, and Plus was left unchanged in the Oct 29 Pro allowance increase.
Does Claude share limits between chat and Claude Code?
Yes. Claude Pro and Max use one pool for Claude chat and Claude Code, so heavy coding can use up your chat allowance.
Can I avoid the shared limit by changing plans?
Not based on anything published. The text appears on Plus, Pro and Business checkout pages, according to forum reports, so no paid plan is known to be exempt.
Related
- Codex limits explained
- ChatGPT limits explained
- ChatGPT pricing and changes
- Codex pricing and changes
- When does Codex reset? (live)
- Codex usage limit reached: what to do
- ChatGPT usage limit reached: what to do
- ChatGPT Pro 100 vs 200 vs 500
- Codex credits: what they cost
- ChatGPT Plus vs Claude Pro for coding
More guides
- Is ChatGPT Plus worth it?
- ChatGPT Free vs Go vs Plus
- ChatGPT Go vs Plus
- ChatGPT Pro 200 allowance cut canceled: what changed on Oct 29
- Codex usage draining fast? 40,000 accounts had the wrong plan limits
- ChatGPT Pro API credits: how to claim up to $500 a month
Not sure a plan beats the API for you? Try the plan vs API cost calculator.